The United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) launched the "Mother and Child Health Care" project in China from 2006 to 2010. The project aimed to improve the quality of primary maternal and child health care services, as well as the availability, sustainability and fairness of maternal and child health care services, thus ultimately to improve women health and to protect and promote child survival and development. The project was carried out at 46 counties in 12 provinces in central and western China. The purpose of the study is to learn about the implementation and completion of the project, figure out its achievements, draw the lessons thus to provide reference and guidance for the further development of the project.

  • General Information of Study
    • Overview
      Name Data on Maternal and Child Health Care
      Project Number CCC2017052301
      Website None
      Investigators
      WANG Yan
      Institutions Department of Maternal and Child Health, Peking University School of Public Health
      Contacts
      ZHOU Hong
      Funding United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), ref YH702
      Objectives The United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) launched the "Mother and Child Health Care" project in China from 2006 to 2010. The project aimed to improve the quality of primary maternal and child health care services, as well as the availability, sustainability and fairness of maternal and child health care services, thus ultimately to improve women health and to protect and promote child survival and development. The project was carried out at 46 counties in 12 provinces in central and western China. The purpose of the study is to learn about the implementation and completion of the project, figure out its achievements, draw the lessons thus to provide reference and guidance for the further development of the project.
      Start Date 2006.05
      End Date 2010.12
    • Study Design
      Number of Participants Data from two cross-sectional surveys: 1. Baseline surveys in 46 project counties in 2006 (6825 children under 5 years old investigated on physical measurement, 6783 caregivers for children under 5 years of age, 3720 children from 6 to 35 months of age measured on hemoglobin and 1199 pregnant women). 2. Final surveys in 26 project counties (4606 children under 5 years old investigated on physical measurement, 4368 caregivers for children under 5 years of age, 2778 children from 6 to 35 months of age measured on hemoglobin and 707 pregnant women) and 14 non-project counties (2409 children under 5 years old investigated on physical measurement, 2320 caregivers for children under 5 years of age, 1409 children from 6 to 35 months of age measured on hemoglobin and 388 pregnant women) in 2010 The total number in first survey was more than 14807 and more than 14798 in the second survey.
      Age Range children under 5 years old and their caregivers, pregnant women
      Geographic Distribution Gansu, Qinghai, Jiangxi, Xinjiang, Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Guangxi, Shaanxi, Inner Mongolia, Shanxi and Tibet
      General Information of Study Design and Sample Methods Same sampling method were used the in 2006 baseline surveys and the 2010 final surveys. The sample size of each county was also the same. Methods of three-stage stratified random sampling and samples allocation based on a fixed sample size were used to select children under five years of age and the caregivers.
      Inclusion Criteria Pregnant women in late pregnancy (pregnant for 20 weeks and above); children under five years old (aged 0-59 months)
      Exclusion Criteria Children or pregnant women who are not within the above range
    • Other Information
      Key Achievements None
      Marker Papers 1. Sufang Guo, Xulan Fu, Robert W Scherpbier, Yan Wang, Hong Zhou, Xiaoli Wang & David B Hipgrave. Breastfeeding rates in central and western China in 2010: implications for child and population health. Bulletin of the World Health Organization. 2013 May 1;91(5):322-31
      2. Hipgrave DB, Fu X, Zhou H, Jin Y, Wang X, Chang S, Scherpbier RW, Wang Y, Guo S. Poor complementary feeding practices and high anaemia prevalence among infants and young children in rural central and western China. Eur J Clin Nutr. 2014 Aug; 68(8):916-24.
      3. Ban L, Guo S, Scherpbier RW, Wang X, Zhou H, Tata LJ. Child feeding and stunting prevalence in left-behind children: a descriptive analysis of data from a central and western Chinese population. Int J Public Health. 2016 Jun.
      Strength By continuously investigating the international general maternal and child health indicators at different times on the central and western China's poor areas, the research reflects maternal and child health status as time changes in China's central and western regions.
      Weakness Two cross section survey data, no follow-up information

联合国儿童基金会于2006年-2010年间在中国开展“母子系统保健”项目。该项目旨在改善基层妇幼保健服务的质量、以及妇幼保健服务的可及性、可获得性、可持续性和服务利用的公平性,最终达到提高妇女健康水平,保护和促进儿童的生存和发展的目的。该项目在中国中西部12个省的46个县中进行。研究目的是了解项目的执行与完成情况,了解项目的成功性,总结经验教训,为项目地区以后的工作、其它项目或其它地区的工作提供借鉴。

  • 基本信息
    项目名称 母子健康数据
    项目编号 CCC2017052301
    相关信息网址 暂无
    项目负责人
    王燕
    项目牵头单位 北京大学公共卫生学院妇幼系
    联系人及联系方式
    周虹
    项目资助来源 联合国儿童基金会(UNICEF),编号YH702
    主要研究目的 联合国儿童基金会于2006年-2010年间在中国开展“母子系统保健”项目。该项目旨在改善基层妇幼保健服务的质量、以及妇幼保健服务的可及性、可获得性、可持续性和服务利用的公平性,最终达到提高妇女健康水平,保护和促进儿童的生存和发展的目的。该项目在中国中西部12个省的46个县中进行。研究目的是了解项目的执行与完成情况,了解项目的成功性,总结经验教训,为项目地区以后的工作、其它项目或其它地区的工作提供借鉴。
    项目开始日期 2006年5月
    项目结束日期(或预计结束日期) 2010年12月
    研究对象抽样信息
    研究对象人数 资料来源于两次横断面调查: 1. 2006年46个项目县基线调查(5岁以下儿童体格测量6825人,5岁以下儿童看护人6783人,6-35月龄儿童血红蛋白测定3720人,孕妇1199人); 2. 2010年26个项目县(5岁以下儿童体格测量4606人,5岁以下儿童看护人4368人,6-35月龄儿童血红蛋白测定2778人,孕妇707人)和14个非项目县的终末调查(5岁以下儿童体格测量2409人,5岁以下儿童看护人2320人,6-35月龄儿童血红蛋白测定1409人,孕妇388人)
    研究对象年龄范围 五岁以下儿童及其看护人;孕妇
    地区分布 在甘肃、青海、江西、新疆、重庆、四川、贵州、广西、陕西、内蒙、山西和西藏等12个省/自治区
    抽样方法 2006年的基调和2010年的期末调查以同样的方法抽样,并且每个县的样本量相同。五岁以下儿童及儿童看护人的确定,主要采用三阶段分层随机抽样及按固定样本量分配样本数量的方法。
    纳入标准 孕中晚期(孕20周及以上)的孕妇;五岁以下儿童是指0-59月龄儿童
    排除标准 不在上述范围内的儿童或孕妇
    其他相关信息
    关键成果 暂无
    相关文章列表 1. Sufang Guo, Xulan Fu, Robert W Scherpbier, Yan Wang, Hong Zhou, Xiaoli Wang & David B Hipgrave. Breastfeeding rates in central and western China in 2010: implications for child and population health. Bulletin of the World Health Organization. 2013 May 1;91(5):322-31
    2. Hipgrave DB, Fu X, Zhou H, Jin Y, Wang X, Chang S, Scherpbier RW, Wang Y, Guo S. Poor complementary feeding practices and high anaemia prevalence among infants and young children in rural central and western China. Eur J Clin Nutr. 2014 Aug; 68(8):916-24.
    3. Ban L, Guo S, Scherpbier RW, Wang X, Zhou H, Tata LJ. Child feeding and stunting prevalence in left-behind children: a descriptive analysis of data from a central and western Chinese population. Int J Public Health. 2016 Jun.
    主要优势 采用国际通用的妇幼卫生指标在不同时点对中国中西部贫困地区的连续调查,反映中国中西部地区妇幼卫生状况随时间变化情况。
    主要局限 两次横断面资料,无随访资料
  • 基线调查基本信息
  • 基线调查变量列表
  • 随访调查基本信息
  • 随访调查变量列表
  • 阶段/域 {[domain.name]}
    {[stage.name]}
  • 变量信息
    变量代码 中文名称 字段属性
    {[variable.code]} {[variable.chinese]} {[variable.type]} {[variable.domain.name]}