1) to determine the prevalence and incidence of myopia (primary outcomes), and the process of refractive development among the populations of 6-year-old and 12-year-old children over periods of 5 years, respectively; 2) to evaluate the associations or causal relationship of potentially modifiable environmental factors with myopia so as to provide clues for intervention (primary outcomes); 3) to document the prevalence of other vision disorders such as amblyopia, strabismus, hyperopia, astigmatism, color blindness and so on (secondary outcomes); 4) to explore the possible causes of these vision disorders among children (secondary outcomes).

  • General Information of Study
    • Overview
      Name Anyang Childhood Eye Study
      Project Number CCC2018051001
      Website N.A.
      Investigators
      Ningli Wang
      Institutions Beijing Tongren Hospital, Capital Medical University
      Contacts
      Shi-Ming Li
      Funding the Ministry of Science and Technology, the Major International (Regional) Joint Research Project of the National Natural Science Foundation of China (81120108007);the Major State Basic Research Development Program of China (‘‘973’’ Program, 2011CB504601) of the Ministry of Science and Technology.
      Objectives 1) to determine the prevalence and incidence of myopia (primary outcomes), and the process of refractive development among the populations of 6-year-old and 12-year-old children over periods of 5 years, respectively;
      2) to evaluate the associations or causal relationship of potentially modifiable environmental factors with myopia so as to provide clues for intervention (primary outcomes);
      3) to document the prevalence of other vision disorders such as amblyopia, strabismus, hyperopia, astigmatism, color blindness and so on (secondary outcomes);
      4) to explore the possible causes of these vision disorders among children (secondary outcomes).
      Start Date October, 2011
      End Date July, 2017
    • Study Design
      Number of Participants 5160
      Age Range 6~15 years old
      Geographic Distribution Anyang city, Henan Province
      General Information of Study Design and Sample Methods Stratified cluster sampling
      Inclusion Criteria The children in Anyang city who met the standard of the subject were randomly included in this cohort. The inspection items and related standards refer to the Sydney Childhood Eye Study in Australia, and the children's myopia cohort study in Singapore and the United States.
      Exclusion Criteria Children who are unable to live permanently in Anyang or are unable to complete the inspection and follow-up.
    • Other Information
      Key Achievements The "Anyang Childhood Eye Study" (ACES) has studied the children myopia from the aspects of eyeball development, environmental factors, genetic and optical model. It has included 5160 children, and has established the largest database of Chinese children's eye growth parameters and is currently the world's largest children myopia cohort. It found that time outdoors has early protective effect on children without myopia and near work related environmental risk factors for children myopia. These findings have provided strong evidence for myopia prevention and intervention in children, and have been rated as one of the top ten achievements of ophthalmology in China in 2015. The series of research reports from the Anyang Childhood Eye Study have been cited into the "Chinese myopia prevention and treatment guidelines" launched by National Health Commission of the People’s Republic of China. The work on Evidence-based evaluation about myopia intervention has been referenced to the latest version of “Refractive Errors & Refractive Surgery Preferred Practice Pattern” of the American Academy of Ophthalmology clinical guidelines in 2018. The reports on amblyopia and strabismus were also cited to the amblyopia section of the the American Academy of Ophthalmology clinical guidelines in 2018.
      Marker Papers 1. Li SM, Li H, Li SY, et al. Time outdoors and myopia progression over 2 years in Chinese children: The Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2015;56(8):4734-40. doi: 10.1167/iovs.14-15474.
      2. Li SM, Wang N, Zhou Y, et al. Paraxial schematic eye models for 7- and 14-year-old Chinese children. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2015;56(6):3577-83. doi: 10.1167/iovs.15-16428.
      3. Li SM, Li SY, Liu LR, et al. Peripheral refraction in 7- and 14-year-old children in central China: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Br J Ophthalmol 2015;99(5):674-79. doi: 10.1136/bjophthalmol-2014-305322.
      4. Li SY, Li SM, Zhou YH, et al. Effect of undercorrection on myopia progression in 12-year-old children. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol 2015;253(8):1363-8. doi: 10.1007/s00417-015-3053-8.
      5. Li SM, Liu LR, Li SY, et al. Design, methodology and baseline data of a school-based cohort study in central China: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Ophthalmic Epidemiol 2013;20(6):348-59. doi: 10.3109/09286586.2013.842596.
      6. Li SM, Li SY, Kang MT, et al. Near work related parameters and myopia in Chinese children: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. PLoS One 2015;10(8):e0134514. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0134514.
      7. Sun YY, Li SM, Li SY, et al. Effect of uncorrection versus full correction on myopia progression in 12-year-old children. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol 2017;255(1):189-95. doi: 10.1007/s00417-016-3529-1.
      8. Atchison DA, Li SM, Li H, et al. Relative peripheral hyperopia does not predict development and progression of myopia in children. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2015;56(10):6162-70. doi: 10.1167/iovs.15-17200.
      9. Zhu BD, Li SM, Li H, et al. Retinal nerve fiber layer thickness in a population of 12-year-old children in central China measured by iVue-100 spectral-domain optical coherence tomography: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2013;54(13):8104-11. doi: 10.1167/iovs.13-11958.
      10. Fu J, Li SM, Liu LR, et al. Prevalence of amblyopia and strabismus in a population of 7th-grade junior high school students in Central China: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study (ACES). Ophthalmic Epidemiol 2014;21(3):197-203. doi: 10.3109/09286586.2014.904371.
      Strength 1. Implementation according to international standards, including clinical phenotype, genotype and environmental factors.
      2. Rich variables, cyclopentolate autorefraction.
      3. High frequency follow-up by once a year.
      Weakness 1. The sample size is slightly smaller.
      2. The follow-up was relatively shorter.

1)确定6岁儿童和12岁儿童在未来5年内的近视患病率和发病率(主要指标)和眼部屈光发育过程; 2)评估潜在的可调控环境因素与近视的关联及因果关系,为近视干预提供线索(主要指标); 3)调查其他视觉障碍如弱视、斜视、远视、散光、色盲等的患病率(次要指标); 4)探索这些视觉问题的可能原因(次要指标)。

  • 基本信息
    项目名称 安阳儿童眼病研究
    项目编号 CCC2018051001
    相关信息网址 暂无
    项目负责人
    王宁利
    项目牵头单位 首都医科大学附属北京同仁医院
    联系人及联系方式
    李仕明
    项目资助来源 国自然重大国际合作项目(81120108007),973课题(2011CB504601)
    主要研究目的 1)确定6岁儿童和12岁儿童在未来5年内的近视患病率和发病率(主要指标)和眼部屈光发育过程;
    2)评估潜在的可调控环境因素与近视的关联及因果关系,为近视干预提供线索(主要指标);
    3)调查其他视觉障碍如弱视、斜视、远视、散光、色盲等的患病率(次要指标);
    4)探索这些视觉问题的可能原因(次要指标)。
    项目开始日期 2011年10月
    项目结束日期(或预计结束日期) 2017年7月
    研究对象抽样信息
    研究对象人数 5160人
    研究对象年龄范围 6~15岁
    地区分布 河南安阳市
    抽样方法 分层整群随机抽样
    纳入标准 符合受试者标准的安阳市区儿童均随机纳入本队列。检查项目和相关标准参考了澳大利亚的悉尼儿童眼病研究、新加坡和美国的儿童近视队列研究等。
    排除标准 无法在安阳当地长期居住的儿童或无法配合完成检查和随访的儿童。
    其他相关信息
    关键成果 “安阳儿童眼病研究”从眼球发育、环境因素、基因和光学模型等不同方面综合研究了儿童近视。它纳入5160名儿童,建立了迄今为止最大的中国儿童眼球生长参数数据库,也是目前全球最大的儿童近视队列。它发现了户外活动对尚未近视儿童的早期保护效果、儿童近距离用眼的环境危险因素等,为儿童近视干预防控提供了有力证据,被评为2015年中国眼科十大成就之一,系列研究报道被引用写入国家卫康委发起的 “中国近视防治指南”。关于近视干预的循证评价工作,被引用写入美国眼科学会最新版的2018年眼科临床指南(Preferred Practice Pattern, PPP)的 “屈光不正和屈光手术临床指南”部分。弱视和斜视的患病情况报道被引用写入美国2018年眼科临床指南的斜弱视章节。
    相关文章列表 1. Li SM, Li H, Li SEE, et al. Time outdoors and myopia progression over 2 years in Chinese children: The Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2015;56(8):4734-40. doi: 10.1167/iovs.14-15474.
    2. Li SM, Wang N, Zhou Y, et al. Paraxial schematic eye models for 7- and 14-year-old Chinese children. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2015;56(6):3577-83. doi: 10.1167/iovs.15-16428.
    3. Li SM, Li SY, Liu LR, et al. Peripheral refraction in 7- and 14-year-old children in central China: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Br J Ophthalmol 2015;99(5):674-79. doi: 10.1136/bjophthalmol-2014-305322.
    4. Li SY, Li SM, Zhou YH, et al. Effect of undercorrection on myopia progression in 12-year-old children. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol 2015;253(8):1363-8. doi: 10.1007/s00417-015-3053-8.
    5. Li SM, Liu LR, Li SY, et al. Design, methodology and baseline data of a school-based cohort study in central China: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Ophthalmic Epidemiol 2013;20(6):348-59. doi: 10.3109/09286586.2013.842596.
    6. Li SM, Li SY, Kang MT, et al. Near work related parameters and myopia in Chinese children: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. PLoS One 2015;10(8):e0134514. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0134514.
    7. Sun YY, Li SM, Li SY, et al. Effect of uncorrection versus full correction on myopia progression in 12-year-old children. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol 2017;255(1):189-95. doi: 10.1007/s00417-016-3529-1.
    8. Atchison DA, Li SM, Li H, et al. Relative peripheral hyperopia does not predict development and progression of myopia in children. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2015;56(10):6162-70. doi: 10.1167/iovs.15-17200.
    9. Zhu BD, Li SM, Li H, et al. Retinal nerve fiber layer thickness in a population of 12-year-old children in central China measured by iVue-100 spectral-domain optical coherence tomography: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2013;54(13):8104-11. doi: 10.1167/iovs.13-11958.
    10. Fu J, Li SM, Liu LR, et al. Prevalence of amblyopia and strabismus in a population of 7th-grade junior high school students in Central China: the Anyang Childhood Eye Study (ACES). Ophthalmic Epidemiol 2014;21(3):197-203. doi: 10.3109/09286586.2014.904371.
    主要优势 1.按照国际标准实施,包括临床表型、基因型和环境因素。
    2.变量丰富,环戊通散光验光。
    3.随访频率高,每年一次。
    主要局限 1.样本量稍小。
    2.随访时间相对较短。
  • 阶段/域 {[domain.name]}
    {[stage.name]}
  • 变量信息
    变量代码 中文名称 字段属性
    {[variable.code]} {[variable.chinese]} {[variable.type]} {[variable.domain.name]}