The prevalence of tuberculosis infection and related risk factors were assessed using tuberculin skin test (TST) and interferon-γ release assay (IGRA) among rural populations with a wide range of local tuberculosis epidemiology in China. We also assessed the risk of development of active disease in those infected to provide a scientific basis for the definition of the at-risk population and explored the compatible laboratory diagnostic criteria by comparing the correlation of two testing methods.

  • General Information of Study
    • Overview
      Name Rural residents (≥5 years old) with latent Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection
      Project Number CCC2018081401
      Website N.A.
      Investigators
      Gao Lei
      Institutions Institute of Pathogen Biology, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences
      Contacts
      Zhang Haoran
      Funding the National Science and Technology Major Project of China, 2013ZX10003004002
      Objectives The prevalence of tuberculosis infection and related risk factors were assessed using tuberculin skin test (TST) and interferon-γ release assay (IGRA) among rural populations with a wide range of local tuberculosis epidemiology in China. We also assessed the risk of development of active disease in those infected to provide a scientific basis for the definition of the at-risk population and explored the compatible laboratory diagnostic criteria by comparing the correlation of two testing methods.
      Start Date June 2013
      End Date September 2018
    • Study Design
      Number of Participants 21,000
      Age Range ≥5 years old
      Geographic Distribution Xiangtan County, Hunan Province; Longxi County, Gansu Province; Danyang City, Jiangsu Province; Zhongmu County, Henan Province
      General Information of Study Design and Sample Methods Cluster sampling was used and each site was divided into several groups by the township. According to the sample size, we computed the number of the groups should be selected. All individuals in the selected group were investigated.
      Inclusion Criteria (1) ≥5 years old (was born earlier than June 1, 2008 ); (2) local household registration or resident population; (3) ability to complete the investigations and tests during the study duration; (4) provision of voluntary written informed consent.
      Exclusion Criteria (1) Failure to meet the above inclusion criteria; (2) present active tuberculosis; (3) pregnancy, lactation or prepared for pregnancy.
    • Other Information
      Key Achievements (1) On the basis of fi ndings showing that the performance of the tuberculin skin test might be aff ected by various factors including BCG vaccination and age, our results suggest that the prevalence of latent tuberculosis in China might be overestimated by skin tests compared with interferon-γ release assays. (2) this is the first population-based multicentre cohort study to track TB infection (using both IGRA and TST) and the elderly were found to be a promising target population for TB infection control and management in rural China due to the higher acquisition and persistence of infection found in this study. (3) This is the first population-based, multicentre, prospective study done in China assessing the development of active disease in individuals with tuberculosis infection defined with IGRA and TST. Our results suggest that key populations in communities in rural China, such as individuals at high risk of disease reactivation of previous tuberculosis, could be targeted for infection screening and treatment, which would provide an important reference for the establishment of intervention strategy for TB infection in China.
      Marker Papers (1) Gao L, Li X, Liu J, et al. Incidence of active tuberculosis in individuals with latent tuberculosis infection in rural China: follow-up results of a population-based, multicentre, prospective cohort study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2017;17(10):1053-1061. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(17)30402-4. (2) Li H, Xin H, Qian S, et al. Testing of tuberculosis infection among Chinese adolescents born after terminating the Bacillus Calmette-Guérin booster vaccination: subgroup analysis of a population-based cross-sectional study. Front Med. 201711(4):528-535. doi: 10.1007/s11684-017-0573-0. (3) Zhang H, Xin H, Li X, et al.A dose-response relationship of smoking with tuberculosis infection: A cross-sectional study among 21008 rural residents in China. PLoS One. 2017;12(4):e0175183. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0175183. (4) Zhang H, Li X, Xin H, et al.Association of Body Mass Index with the Tuberculosis Infection: a Population-based Study among 17796 Adults in Rural China.Sci Rep. 2017 Feb 8;7:41933. doi: 10.1038/srep41933. (5) Gao L, Bai L, Liu J, et al. Annual risk of tuberculosis infection in rural China: a population-based prospective study.Eur Respir J. 2016;48(1):168-78. doi: 10.1183/13993003.00235-2016. (6) Gao L, Lu W, Bai L, et al. Latent tuberculosis infection in rural China: baseline results of a population-based, multicentre, prospective cohort study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2015;15(3):310-9. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(14)71085-0.
      Strength (1) Good sample representation. The sample was stratified by study site (central, eastern and western regions), which we selected on the basis of a wide range of local tuberculosis epidemiology,economic conditions, and geographical locations. (2) First-hand information on exposure (close contact history, etc.) and outcome (active detection of tuberculosis) can be prospectively obtained and during cohort follow-up. (3) The sample size was large and there were 21 thousands participants were included and followed. (4) The cohort was relatively stable and the measures including strict inclusion and exclusion and regular follow-up were conducted to maintain the stablity of cohort.
      Weakness Bias was inevitable because of the long duration of follow-up, death and emigration.

在结核病不同流行区域(高、中、低疫情地区)的农村人口中利用结核菌素皮肤试验和γ-干扰素释放试验开展结核分枝杆菌感染的检测,首次初步获得我国结核分枝杆菌感染率,系统揭示结核感染的相关危险因素;建立感染人群研究队列并进行随访,获得活动性肺结核的两年和五年发病率,分析与发病相关的危险因素,为重点人群的界定提供科学依据;系统比较两种检测方法的相关性,探索符合中国人群特征的实验室诊断标准。

  • 基本信息
    项目名称 农村社区结核潜伏感染队列(≥5岁)
    项目编号 CCC2018081401
    相关信息网址
    项目负责人
    高磊
    项目牵头单位 中国医学科学院病原生物学研究所
    联系人及联系方式
    张浩然
    项目资助来源 国家科技重大专项,2013ZX10003004002
    主要研究目的 在结核病不同流行区域(高、中、低疫情地区)的农村人口中利用结核菌素皮肤试验和γ-干扰素释放试验开展结核分枝杆菌感染的检测,首次初步获得我国结核分枝杆菌感染率,系统揭示结核感染的相关危险因素;建立感染人群研究队列并进行随访,获得活动性肺结核的两年和五年发病率,分析与发病相关的危险因素,为重点人群的界定提供科学依据;系统比较两种检测方法的相关性,探索符合中国人群特征的实验室诊断标准。
    项目开始日期 2013年6月
    项目结束日期(或预计结束日期) 2018年9月
    研究对象抽样信息
    研究对象人数 2.1万人
    研究对象年龄范围 5周岁及以上
    地区分布 湖南省湘潭县、甘肃省陇西县、江苏省丹阳市、河南省中牟县
    抽样方法 整群抽样,每个现场以乡镇为单位分为若干个群,根据样本量,确定应抽取的群数;对抽中的群内所有符合纳入标准的个体均进行调查。
    纳入标准 (1) 5周岁或以上(早于2008年6月1日出生);
    (2) 本地户籍人口或在本地已连续居住6个月及以上的常住人口,能保证完成整个研究周期;
    (3) 愿意提供真实信息并配合完成研究内容;
    (4) 自愿签署知情同意书。
    排除标准 (1) 不能满足纳入标准者;
    (2) 结核病现患患者;
    (3) 妊娠期、哺乳期或准备妊娠的女性。
    其他相关信息
    关键成果 (1) 本研究提示基于TST检测结果过高估计了我国结核分枝杆菌的感染状况;影响因素分析提示,相比较γ-干扰素释放试验(IGRA),结核菌素皮肤试验(TST)结果受卡介苗接种史、年龄、非结核分枝杆菌感染等多因素影响;为在我国开展结核分枝杆菌感染控制的可行性提供了重要数据支持,同时也为今后我国结核分枝杆菌感染的界定标准等提供了参考依据。(2)首次报道了我国农村人口结核年新发感染率,尤其农村地区老年人群(≥60岁)为结核感染控制和管理的重点人群。(3) 首次报道了我国农村人口潜伏感染人群发病状况的研究结果,同时,依据研究结果提出针对有既往结核病史的潜伏感染人群开展干预将会实现我国结核病发病率的快速下降,为下一步结核潜伏感染干预研究的设计和实施奠定了重要基础,同时为我国结核潜伏感染干预策略的建立提供了重要的参考依据。
    相关文章列表 (1) Gao L, Li X, Liu J, et al. Incidence of active tuberculosis in individuals with latent tuberculosis infection in rural China: follow-up results of a population-based, multicentre, prospective cohort study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2017;17(10):1053-1061. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(17)30402-4.
    (2) Li H, Xin H, Qian S, et al. Testing of tuberculosis infection among Chinese adolescents born after terminating the Bacillus Calmette-Guérin booster vaccination: subgroup analysis of a population-based cross-sectional study. Front Med. 201711(4):528-535. doi: 10.1007/s11684-017-0573-0.
    (3) Zhang H, Xin H, Li X, et al.A dose-response relationship of smoking with tuberculosis infection: A cross-sectional study among 21008 rural residents in China. PLoS One. 2017;12(4):e0175183. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0175183.
    (4) Zhang H, Li X, Xin H, et al.Association of Body Mass Index with the Tuberculosis Infection: a Population-based Study among 17796 Adults in Rural China.Sci Rep. 2017 Feb 8;7:41933. doi: 10.1038/srep41933.
    (5) Gao L, Bai L, Liu J, et al. Annual risk of tuberculosis infection in rural China: a population-based prospective study.Eur Respir J. 2016;48(1):168-78. doi: 10.1183/13993003.00235-2016.
    (6) Gao L, Lu W, Bai L, et al. Latent tuberculosis infection in rural China: baseline results of a population-based, multicentre, prospective cohort study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2015;15(3):310-9. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(14)71085-0.
    主要优势 (1)样本代表性好。选取我国结核病不同流行区域(疫情高、中、低的中部、东部和西部地区)的农村地区人口,建立有代表性的、前瞻性的结核分枝杆菌感染和发病研究队列。(2)偏倚较小,结果可信。在队列随访中,可前瞻性的直接获取关于暴露(密切接触史等)和结局(活动性肺结核的主动发现)的第一手资料。(3)样本量大。为全球最大规模、多中心的结核分枝杆菌感染的流行病学调查和队列研究,共计2.1万对象纳入队列并被长期随访。(4)队列相对稳定。队列纳入标准和排除标准严格,本地户籍或在当地连续居住6个月及以上的外来常住人口方可纳入;同时,通过队列季度维护和每年一次的随访性调查等定期访问维护队列的稳定。
    主要局限 队列随访周期长,调查对象死亡、迁出等原因导致失访偏倚不可避免。
  • 阶段/域 {[domain.name]}
    {[stage.name]}
  • 变量信息
    变量代码 中文名称 字段属性
    {[variable.code]} {[variable.chinese]} {[variable.type]} {[variable.domain.name]}